Chicago Sex Offender Lawyer — Failure to Register
All states across the country are strict when punishing sex crimes. Illinois is no exception, which is why you want to seek an experienced Chicago sex offender lawyer if you get accused of sexually deviant conduct. Not only is Illinois strict with punishing sex crimes, it is also strict when it comes to enforcing the punishment. For example, you must register as a sex offender after a conviction for a sex crime. If you fail to do so, you’ll face additional penalties on top of those you received for committing the underlying crime.
Registering as a sex offender is not a one-time event. You must register every year – typically for at least 10 years – and when you move. Therefore, you must be vigilant when it comes to compliance. If you forget just one time, you could be severely punished. This means that a single sex offense can affect your life for years to come.
At O’Meara Law, we can help you understand your responsibilities as a sex offender and defend your case should you be charged with failure to register as a sex offender. To learn more, call us today at 312-909-0706 for a free and confidential consultation.
Which Sex Offenders Are Required to Register?
According to the Illinois Sex Offender Registration Act, any person convicted of a sex crime in Illinois is required to register as a sex offender.
These crimes include:
- Indecent solicitation of a child
- Sexual exploitation of a child
- Soliciting for a juvenile prostitute
- Keeping a place of juvenile prostitution
- Patronizing a juvenile prostitute
- Juvenile pimping
- Exploitation of a child
- Child pornography
- Criminal sexual assault
- Aggravated criminal sexual assault
- Ritualized abuse of a child
- Forcible detention of a victim under the age of 18
- Indecent solicitation of an adult
- Pandering, if the victim is under age 18
- Public indecency for a third or subsequent conviction
- Custodial sexual misconduct
- Sexual misconduct with a person with a disability
- Permitting sexual abuse of a child
- Kidnapping, if the victim is under age 18 and when sexually motivated
- Aggravated kidnapping, if the victim is under age 18 and when sexually motivated
- Child abduction by luring a child under 16 into a vehicle or building when sexually motivated
Illinois State Police require you to register in person at least once a year every 10 years or for the rest of your life, depending on the severity of the crime. If you are considered sexually dangerous or sexually violent, you will have to register every 90 days for life. If you moved to Illinois after January 1, 2012, after committing a sex crime in another state, you will need to register in Illinois as well.
Penalties for failing to Register
Failure to register as a sex offender is a major offense. Both state and federal law take the sex offender registry seriously. According to section 2250 of Title 18, United States Code, it’s a federal crime to knowingly refuse to register as a sex offender. You could face charges if you leave the state or country without informing the authorities.
Under Illinois law, failure to register as a sex offender may result in revocation of parole, aftercare release, mandatory supervised release, or conditional release. A first-time offense is a Class 3 felony, which carries a penalty of two to five years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. Subsequent offenses are considered a Class 2 felony, which is punishable by three to seven years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines.
How O’Meara Law Can Help
It’s important to be aware of the penalties and responsibilities you’ll face as a sex offender. Your penalties do not end once you pay your fines and serve your prison sentence. You must also regularly register as a sex offender. If you forgot to register as a sex offender, you’ll need to work with a Chicago sex offender lawyer to minimize your criminal penalties.
Attorney Michael O’Meara is a zealous advocate and compassionate legal advisor who can help you make the best of your situation. To find out how to avoid a conviction for failing to register as a sex offender, contact O’Meara Law for a free and confidential consultation at 312-909-0706.