In 2013, Illinois passed the Concealed Carry Act, which allows people with permits to legally possess concealed firearms in the state. In order to be eligible for a concealed weapons permit, you must meet certain requirements. If you have had two or more DUIs within the past five years, for example, you will not have the right to obtain a concealed weapons permit.
For more information on whether you can get a concealed weapon permit with a DUI, contact Michael O’Meara, an experienced Chicago DUI Lawyer. He will explain your rights and explain your legal options. Call today at 312-909-0706.
Requirements for Obtaining a Concealed Weapons Permit In Illinois
To begin the application process for a concealed weapons permit, you must be at least 21 years of age and possess a valid Firearm Owner’s Identification Card (FOID). You may not apply for a concealed carry permit if:
- You have been convicted of assault or battery within the last five years
- You have had two or more traffic incidents related to drugs or alcohol
- You are subject to a court hearing or an arrest warrant
- You have received a court order to seek substance abuse counseling within the past five years
- Law enforcement officials have filed an objection against you
Concealed Carry Laws in Illinois
In Illinois, you have the right to carry concealed firearms in public as long as you have a concealed weapons permit and have completed a minimum of 16 hours of approved firearm safety training. You do not need this permit in order to carry concealed firearms on your own property or the property of a person who has given you permission.
It’s important to note that even if you have a concealed weapons permit, there are certain places such as hospitals, schools, and restaurants that make half of their income from the sale of alcohol that prohibits firearms on their property.
Penalties for Carrying a Concealed Weapon Without a Permit
In the event that you carry a concealed weapon in public without a concealed weapons permit, you will face serious penalties. If you are eligible to obtain a FOID card but have no permit and are caught possessing a firearm in public, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor with may lead to one year in jail, a fine of up to $2,500, or both.
The charge turns into a Class 4 felony involving one to three years in prison and a fine of up to $2,500 if you are caught for the second time. If you do not qualify for a FOID card and are caught with a firearm, you may be charged with a Class 3 felony and two to five years in prison and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
If you have any questions about whether your DUI prohibits you from obtaining a concealed weapons permit, or you are facing charges for a firearms possession violation, contact Chicago criminal defense lawyer Michael O’Meara today. He can answer any questions you may have and ensure that your rights are being protected. Call O’Meara Law at 312-909-0706 to take advantage of your free consultation.